Teacher Preparation

Description

Reading Recovery uses a two-tier level of curriculum for its professional development training. OSU Reading Recovery trainers provide initial training and continuing professional development to coaches who are called teacher leaders. Teacher leaders work at a sponsoring site or district and provide initial training and continuing professional development to Reading Recovery teachers.


Applying to be a Reading Recovery Teacher

Candidates for teacher training must be sponsored by a school district and hold a state-issued teaching license. A minimum of a bachelor’s degree is required.

Sponsoring school districts apply to the nearest licensed teacher training site for an application. (See link, below, for OSU-affiliated teacher training sites.)

Teachers preparing to be Reading Recovery teachers enroll in six (6) semester hours over the course of an academic year and are taught by teacher leaders. Teachers teach Reading Recovery children during their training year. Following the initial year of training, teachers continue to participate in continuing professional development sessions at their local Reading Recovery site for as long as they remain in the program.


More Information

Site Name: Sarasota
Name: Lisa Fisher (Primary Contact)

Address:
Atwater Elementary School
4701 Huntsville Ave
North Port FL 34288

Work Phone: 941-257-2317
Email: lisa.fisher@sarasotacountyschools.net

Site Name: SE Indiana RR
Name: Linda Ridings Vaught (Primary Contact)

Address:
SE Indiana RR Consortium
746 Parkwood Dr
Clarksville IN 47129

Work Phone: 812-989-0863
Email: lynnvaught1@gmail.com


Site Name: Vigo County Schools
Name: Debra Britton

Address:
Sugar Creek Consolidated Elementary School VCSC
4226 W Old Hwy 40
West Terre Haute IN 47885

Work Phone: 812-462-4443 Ext 67027
Email: dlb3@vigoschools.org


Site Name: Vigo County Schools
Name: Polly A. Lee (Primary Contact)

Address:
6701 Wabash Ave
Terre Haute IN 47803

Work Phone: 812-462-4526
Email: pal@vigoschools.org

Site Name: Charles County Public Schools
Name: Beverly J. Wells (Primary Contact)

Address:
Indian Head ES
4200 Indian Head Hwy
Indian Head MD 20640

Work Phone: 301-934-7491 X7491
Email: bjwells@ccboe.com


Site Name: Prince George's County
Name: Kathryn G. Hardman (Primary Contact)

Address:
Thomas Claggett Rm 1
9201 E. Hampton Dr
Capitol Heights MD 20743

Work Phone: 301-808-8280
Email: kathryn.hardman@pgcps.org

Site Name: Atlantic City
Name: Lynn Massari (Primary Contact)

Address:
Richmond Avenue School
4115 Ventnor Ave
Atlantic City NJ 08401

Work Phone: 609-343-7250 Ext 7128
Email: lmassari@acboe.org


Site Name: Jersey City
Name: Alice Bennett (Primary Contact)

Address:
Jersey City BOE
839 Arbordale Dr
Clifford Beach NJ 07735

Work Phone: 732-566-6195
Email: abennett@jcboe.org

Site Name: Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
Name: Kristine Short (Primary Contact)

Address:
Kennedy Cullen LLC
14085 Allen Rd
Albion NY 14411-9254

Email: kristineeliseshort@gmail.com


Site Name: Orleans Niagara
Name: James Schnug (Primary Contact)

Address:
1100 Kinnear Rd 102D
Columbus OH 43212

Work Phone: 614-688-3081
Fax: 614-688-3980
Email: schnug.3@osu.edu


Site Name: Nassau BOCES - Greater NY
Name: Laura Brodsky

Address:
Nassau BOCES-Greater NY Region
1 Merrick Ave
Westbury NY 11590

Work Phone: 516-608-6642
Email: laujean1@aol.com


Site Name: Nassau BOCES - Greater NY
Name: Mary Ellen Cull (Primary Contact)

Address:
Nassau BOCES-Greater NY Region
1 Merrick Ave
Westbury NY 11590

Work Phone: 516-608-6652
Email: mecull@nasboces.org


Site Name: NYC Empowerment
Name: Theresa Fazzolari (Primary Contact)

Address:
PS 247
7000 21st Ave
Brooklyn NY 11204-5404

Work Phone: 718-621-4562
Email: TFazzol@schools.nyc.gov


Site Name: NYC DOE
Name: Jane Montgomery

Address:
484 W 43rd St Apt 18E
New York NY 10036-6302

Work Phone: 212-239-3950 Ext. 2032
Email: jmontgo@schools.nyc.gov


Site Name: NYC DOE
Name: Ann Marie Reddington (Primary Contact)

Address:
PS 126X
175 W 166th St
Bronx NY 10452

Work Phone: 718-681-6120 Ext. 220
Email: areddin@schools.nyc.gov


Site Name: NYC DOE
Name: Elisabeth Sisson

Address:
872 Maywood Ave
Maywood NJ 07607

Work Phone: 201-925-7921
Email: ESisson@schools.nyc.gov

Site Name: Ashland/Mansfield City
Name: Teresa Fruth (Primary Contact)

Address:
Ashland University-144 Dwight Schar
401 College Ave
Ashland OH 44805-3799
Work Phone: 419-289-5370
Email: tfruth@ashland.edu


Site Name: Columbus City
Name: Lisa Chappel

Address:
Columbus City Schools
2001 Hamilton Ave
Columbus OH 43211

Work Phone: 614-365-5296
Email: lchappel6540@columbus.k12.oh.us


Site Name: Columbus City
Name: Brenda Krum (Primary Contact)

Address:
Columbus City Schools
2001 Hamilton Ave
Columbus OH 43211

Work Phone: 614-365-5296
Email: bkrum8588@columbus.k12.oh.us


Site Name: Delaware-Marion
Name: Lori Fitzgerald (Primary Contact)

Address:
Woodward Elementary
200 S Washington St
Delaware OH 43015

Work Phone: 740-833-1600 Ext 2634
Email: fitzgelo@delawarecityschools.net


Site Name: Delaware-Marion
Name: Jennifer Layne

Address:
Marion City Schools
Taft Elementary School
1000 Robinson St
Marion OH 43302

Work Phone: 740-223-4518
Email: jlayne@mcspresidents.org


Site Name: Gahanna East
Name: Cheryl Steger

Address:
Chapelfield Elementary
280 Chapelfield Rd
Gahanna OH 43230

Work Phone: 614-478-5575
Email: stegerc@gjps.org


Site Name: Jackson Local Schools
Name: Sharon Ritchey

Address:
Lake Cable Elementary School
5335 Villa Padova Dr NW
Canton OH 44718

Work Phone: 330-353-0571
Email: ser2jc@bearworks.jackson.sparcc.org


Site Name: Solon
Name: Jeff Williams (Primary Contact)

Address:
Solon City Schools
32345 Cannon Rd
Solon OH 44139

Work Phone: 440-349-7756
Email: jeffwilliams@solonboe.org


Site Name: South Western / Dublin
Name: Leslie A. McBane (Primary Contact)

Address:
Stiles Resource Center
4704 Stiles Ave
Columbus OH 43228-1954

Work Phone: 614-801-8388
Email: leslie.mcbane@swcs.us


Site Name: South Western / Dublin
Name: Kimberly Reynolds

Address:
Glacier Ridge Elementary
7175 Glacier Ridge Blvd
Dublin OH 43017

Work Phone: 614-266-7133
Email: reynolds_kim@dublinschools.net


Site Name: South Western / Dublin
Name: Cheri R. Slinger

Address:
7689 Haverhill Ct
7175 Glacier Ridge Blvd
Dublin OH 43017

Work Phone: 614-595-0066
Email: cherislinger@gmail.com


Site Name: Warren City
Name: Lisa Rek

Address:
Warren City BOE
105 High St
Warren OH 44481

Work Phone: 330-841-2321 X7327
Email: lisa.rek@neomin.org


Site Name: Warren City
Name: Jennifer Samoly (Primary Contact)

Address:
75 May Ct
Chagrin Falls OH 44022

Work Phone: 440-821-8157
Email: jenny.samoly@gmail.com


Site Name: Wright State University
Name: Heather Good (Primary Contact)

Address:
Wright State University
326 Allyn Hall
3640 Col Glenn Hwy
Dayton OH 45435

Work Phone: 937-775-2764
Email: heather.good@wright.edu


Site Name: Wright State University
Name: Braeden Schantz

Address:
Wright State University
326 Allyn Hall
3640 Col Glenn Hwy
Dayton OH 45435

Work Phone: 937-775-2764
Email: braedan.schantz@wright.edu


Site Name: Zanesville
Name: Allison Karling

Address:
Zanesville City Schools
160 N 4th St
Zanesville, OH 43701

Work Phone: 740-588-5555 Ext 5555
Email: akarling@zanesville.k12.oh.us

Site Name: Nashville Metro School

Primary Contact: Amber Rankin

Address:
Martin Professional Bldg
2400 Fairfax Ave
Nashville TN 37212

# Name Email Phone
1 Kristie Beyer kristie.beyer@mnps.org 319-210-2053
2 Marissa Hicks marissa.hicks@mnps.org 865-313-3837
3 Amber Rankin amber.rankin@mnps.org 615-972-8244
4 Alejandra M. Solano alejandra.solano@mnps.org 615-423-2125

Site Name: Fairfax County
Name: Jacquelyn Alfriend

Address:
Fairfax County Public Schools
8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Dr, #4023
Fairfax VA 22031

Work Phone: 616-990-4333
Email: jacquelyn.alfriend@fcps.edu

Site Name: District of Columbia Public Schools
Name: Linda Randall

Address:
DC Public Schools
1200 First St NE, #11440
Washington DC 20002

Email: Linda.Randall@dc.gov